This article is about the issue of getting the message “Other people are editing this document” when opening a Word (or Office) document from your local OneDrive folder. Many users who are not sharing their files are still getting this popup.
This is a bug, and this popup will appear even when you save a new file in the cloud or to your OneDrive folder, as it appears to be the default setting.
To fix this issue, open your Word or Excel document, then click on the Share button in the upper-right corner (or go to File -> Share); toggle Automatically share changes to Never, and the message won’t show up anymore.
You will only see these settings under Share if you have already saved your file in the cloud.
(If you see a brown box icon on your files in your OneDrive – Personal folder on Windows 11 and can’t open them, check the article I’ve written on it.)
How to Fix Other People are Editing this Document on OneDrive
An alternative fix is when you see the popup “Other people are editing this document. Do you want to save changes as they happen automatically?”, check the “Don’t ask me again” box and then click on No.
If you are worried whether someone has access to your documents and want to make sure that no one else can edit your file, click on the Share button and check if there is anyone listed under your account.
The popup message “Other people are editing this document” always appears whenever you save a Word or Office document on your OneDrive folder, even when you create a new document.
To get rid of this message forever, click on the Share button in the upper right corner of Office, or go to File -> Share, and then change Automatically share changes to Never.
You can also check the don’t ask me again box when the popup appears and click No never to see it again.
To learn how to add text and arrows on pictures or in Microsoft Word, check the article I’ve written on that.